Scope and Content

Files of the first through the twentieth sessions of the Utah territorial legislative assemblies. Several sessions contain files for both the Council and the House of Representatives; others contain files for the House only.

Files consist of minutes, communications, and reports, most often representing an arrangement for publication. Working files of acts, resolutions, and memorials are also represented for many of the sessions. A number of citizens' petitions are also included.

Council presidents were Willard Richards, Heber C. Kimball, Daniel H. Wells, George A. Smith, and Lorenzo Snow; House speakers were W. W. Phelps, Jedediah M. Grant, Hosea Stout, John Taylor, and Orson Pratt.

Includes communications from Utah territorial governors Brigham Young, Alfred Cumming, Stephen S. Harding, James Duane Doty, Charles Durkee, and George L. Woods, and territorial secretaries Benjamin G. Ferris, Almon W. Babbitt, John Hartnett, Francis H. Wootton, Frank Fuller, Amos Reed, Edwin Higgins, S. A. Mann, and George A. Black.

Legislation dealt with county and city organizations, judicial authority, taxation, Indian relations, women suffrage, and statehood attempts. Concerns over the management of water, mineral resources, agriculture, manufacturing, roads, ferries, bridges, railroads, schools, and postal and telegraph service were also addressed. Includes reports related to the Utah militia, the Utah Penitentiary, the Utah Library, and the Deseret Agricultural and Manufacturing Society.

Files also include information documenting the efforts of George A. Smith and others to compile a code of laws during several legislative sessions.

For records of Legislative Assembly sessions deemed to be official proceedings, see the Utah State Archives.

Arrangement of Materials


12 boxes

12 boxes

Linear Feet

Use and Access

Open to research.

Copyright expired.

Preferred Citation

[Item description], Utah Territory Legislative Assembly papers. Church History Library, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Salt Lake City, Utah

©2018 Intellectual Reserve, Inc. All rights reserved.


Utah Territory, Legislative Assembly
Language of the Materials
Access Restrictions
Open to research.
12 boxes
12 boxes

Related Topics and Terms